Ali Zaidi, Khusro Bakhtiar quit PTI

Ali Zaidi, Khusro Bakhtiar quit PTI

Karachi (Web Desk): Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Sindh President Ali Zaidi and former federal minister Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtiar announced to resign from party positions.

In a video message, Ali Zaidi said his decision to “quit” politics and resign from positions within the PTI was a “difficult decision” that he arrived at after “extensive deliberation”.

Zaidi added that he will "continue working for Pakistan, and bring foreign exchange to the country".

Condemning the incidents of May 9, he said that “whatever happened was wrong, whoever was involved in it should be brought to justice”.

"Pakistan Army is our pride because of them we sleep peacefully as they protect our borders," Zaidi stated. He said he entered politics for Pakistan.

Meanwhile, former federal minister Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtiar also announced to quit the PTI.

In a video message, the former minister said that the "May 9 incidents" led him to reevaluate his alignment with PTI's ideology.

Khusro Bakhtiar said he was resigning from key positions, including his membership in the core committee and presidency of the South Punjab chapter.

It is pertinent to mention that the violent protests erupted across the country on May 9 after Imran Khan was arrested from the premises of the Islamabad High Court (IHC) in the Al-Qadir Trust corruption case.

Following the protests, the government launched a massive crackdown against PTI leaders and workers, and rounded up thousands of people on charges of attacking civil and military installations.

As the crackdown intensified, dozens of PTI leaders, including close confidants of Imran Khan, started jumping ship in what was described by the PTI chief as “forced divorces".

Several party leaders and lawmakers, including Shireen Mazari, Fawad Chaudhry, Aamir Kiani, Amin Aslam, Mahmood Moulvi, Aftab Siddiqui, Fayyazul Hassan Chohan, Maleeka Bokhari, Jamshed Cheema, Musarrat Cheema, Firdous Ashiq Awan, Murad Raas, Abrar and others announced leaving the PTI.