PM Shehbaz wins vote of confidence in NA

PM Shehbaz wins vote of confidence in NA

Islamabad (Web Desk/Agencies): Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif on Thursday won a vote of confidence in the National Assembly (NA).

According to details, the premier received 180 votes reposing confidence in his leadership in the 342-member assembly, the lower house of parliament.

"One hundred and eighty members (180) members rose in favor of resolution and the resolution is passed. Consequently, Mian Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif has obtained the vote of confidence from the National Assembly and commands the confidence of the majority of the members of the National Assembly as the prime minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan,” NA Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf said while announcing the result of voting.

The summary for the vote of confidence was moved by Foreign Minister (FM) Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari.

The resolution stated, "The National Assembly of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan reposes its full confidence in the leadership of Mian Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif as the Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan."

A total of 180 members voted in favor of resolution and the Speaker directed the National Assembly Secretariat to place the names of all members on its website which voted in favor of the resolution. The resolution appeared as supplementary agenda item on `Orders of the Day’.
While tabling the resolution, FM Bilawal said that there are rumours about the parliament and today the government decided to show the whole world that the parliament is standing with the constitution and the parliament as well.

Parliament is standing with the supremacy of the constitution, he added.

FM Bilawal said that the parliament is standing with the majority decision 4/3 of the honourable Supreme Court (SC).

After the passing of the resolution, PM Shehbaz Sharif addressed the House and thanked the lawmakers for reposing confidence in him and assured them that he would never let them down.

The premier especially thanked former President Asif Ali Zardari, Maulana Fazlur Rehman, Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, Sardar Akhtar Jan Mengal, Khalid Magsi, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Amir Haider Hoti, Mohsin Dawar, Aftab Sherpao, and all the coalition leaders for their trust.

The prime minister said we are politicians and we always believe in negotiations to sort out differences.

He said the coalition government has invited the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) for talks at the Senate of Pakistan.

"The talks will begin today and their agenda will be simultaneous and transparent elections in the entire country," PM Shehbaz said, adding that Pakistan is a federation comprising four federating units and holding elections in Punjab only will send negative connotations to other provinces.

Talking about the negative politics of Imran Khan, PM Shehbaz said that the PTI chief, in connivance with former chief justice (CJP) Saqib Nisar, hatched a conspiracy against Pakistan.

"The Imran-Saqib duo ruined Pakistan's economy and other projects like Pakistan Kidney and Liver Institute (PKLI), the premier said.

He said that it was former CJP Saqib Nisar who played a vital role in rigging the previous elections and paving the way for Imran Khan to come to power.

"Writ of the law and the constitution cannot be established unless characters like Saqib Nisar are not brought to justice," PM Shehbaz said.

The prime minister further said that it is prerogative of the Parliament to make or amend laws and the judiciary can only interpret it. He said the judiciary cannot rewrite the constitution.

"Today's trust vote is a reflection of parliament's will that this house stands with the majority decision of the apex court and is not ready to accept the minority judgment," the premier asserted.

PM Shehbaz also expressed the commitment to uphold the dignity and honour of the Parliament at all costs.