PTI paid price for making mistakes in first phase of KP LG elections: PM Imran

PTI paid price for making mistakes in first phase of KP LG elections: PM Imran

Islamabad (Web Desk): Prime Minister Imran Khan on Tuesday admitted that wrong candidate selection by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) was a major cause of defeat in first phase of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) local government elections.

In a tweet on Tuesday, the premier said that PTI made mistakes in the first phase of elections and paid the price.

PM Imran added that he will personally be overseeing PTI's local government election strategy in second phase of KP elections and local government elections across Pakistan.

He expressed the hope that PTI will come out stronger.

PM Imran’s tweet comes after the ruling PTI on Monday was dealt a major blow after Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) emerged as the leading party in the Khyber Pakhtunkwa's ongoing local body elections, leaving ruling PTI behind, according to unofficial results.

As per the unofficial results of the 64 tehsil councils obtained so far, the JUI-F has emerged victorious in 16 tehsil council seats while the PTI has won in 14.

The PTI faced major setback as it lost the Peshawar mayor seat to the JUI-F with a wide margin.

As per the unofficial results, JUI-F's Zubair Ali won with a margin of around 11,500 votes after securing 62,388, whereas PTI's Rizwan Bangash received 50,669 votes and PPP's Zarak Arbab got 45,000 votes.

Of the remaining six tehsil chairman seats of Peshawar, the JUI-F managed to clinch four while the PTI could get one seat of tehsil chairman from the provincial capital.

Meanwhile, Independent candidates have won 10, Awami National Party (ANP) 6, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) 3, Jamaat-e-Islami two, and Tehreek-e-Istiqlal in the tehsil council elections.

It is pertinent to mention that the 17 districts of the province, where first phase of the LG elections held on December 19, included Peshawar, Nowshera, Charsadda, Khyber, Mohmand, Mardan, Swabi, Kohat, Karak, Hangu, Bannu, Lakki Marwat, Dera Ismail Khan, Tank, Haripur, Buner and Bajaur.