Polls 2024: Independents lead with 101, PML-N 75, PPP 54 and MQM-P 17

Polls 2024: Independents lead with 101, PML-N 75, PPP 54 and MQM-P 17

Lahore/Islamabad: The Election Commission of Pakistan has so far announced the results of 264 constituencies.

According to the unofficial and provisional results, independent candidates secured 101, PML-N 75, PPP 54, MQM-P 17, JUI-F 4, PML 3, BNP 2, IPP 2, PML-Z 1, MWM 1, PNAP 1 and BAP 1.

The ECP has ordered re-polling in 26 polling stations of NA-88 on February 15 and the final results of these constituencies will be announced after the accumulation of complete results.

The unofficial and provisional results of the four provincial assemblies released by the ECP are:

Punjab Assembly: 

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PMLN): 137

Independents: 138

Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarian (PPPP): 10

Pakistan Muslim League -Quaid (PML-Q): 8

Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP): 1

Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP): 1

Pakistan Muslim League Zia-ul-Haq PML-Z: 1

Sindh Assembly: 

Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarian (PPPP): 84

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P): 28

Independents: 13

Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA): 2

Jamat-e-Islami (JI): 2

 Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Assembly: 

Independents: 90

Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Pakistan (JUI-P): 7

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PMLN): 5

Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarian (PPPP): 4

Jamat-e-Islami Pakistan (JIP): 3

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-Parliamentarian (PTI-P): 2

Awami National Party (ANP): 1

 Balochistan Assembly: 

 Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarian (PPPP): 11

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N): 9

Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Pakistan (JUI-P): 9

Independents: 6

Balochistan Awami Party (BAP): 4

National Party (NP): 3

Awami National Party (ANP): 2

Balochistan National Party (BNP): 1

Balochistan National Party (Awami) (BNP-A): 1

Haq Do Tehreek Balochistan (HDTB): 1

Jamat-e-Islami Pakistan (JIP): 1

According to the ECP, over 128 million registered voters were scheduled to exercise their democratic right by casting votes for candidates participating in elections for the national and provincial legislatures.

The polling was held for 265 seats of the National Assembly and 590 seats of provincial assemblies.

The voting took place on 51 seats of the Balochistan Assembly, 128 out of 130 seats of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Assembly, 296 out of 297 seats of the Punjab Assembly and 130 seats of the Sindh Assembly.

Out of 648,000 security personnel deployed, 137,000 were from army and paramilitary force, while 511,000 policemen performed duties during the election.

An average of seven to eight security personnel manned each of the 90,777 polling stations across the country.

In the first tier, the police performed the duty, along with the civil armed forces in the second tier and the armed forces in the third tier.

A special aerial Quick Reaction Force (QRF) had also been established to promptly deal with any untoward incident, especially in the Balochistan province.

Meanwhile, the government suspended cellular services across Pakistan citing the security reasons.

Countrywide disruption of cellular and internet services during polls irked the political parties and cast doubts on the transparency of the voting process.

Moreover, a total of 349 foreign journalists and 103 observers from abroad have been covering and closely inspecting the conduct of the general election across the Pakistan.

The journalists associated with foreign media outlets were primarily performing election coverage in Islamabad, Lahore and Karachi.

Overall, 60 out of 103 observers belong to Pakistan and 43 others came from foreign countries to inspect the country’s electoral event.