World Cup 2023: Pakistan set-346 run target for New Zealand in warm-up match 

World Cup 2023: Pakistan set-346 run target for New Zealand in warm-up match 

Hyderabad, India (Web Desk): Pakistan set a target of 346 runs for New Zealand In an ICC World Cup 2023 warm-up match being played in the Indian city of Hyderabad on Friday.

Pakistan won the toss and decided to bat first against New Zealand.

Mohammad Rizwan top-scored for his side by scoring an astounding knock of 103 runs off 93 which included 11 boundaries.

Pakistan’s captain, Babar Azam, was the second top-scorer as he scored 80 off 84 and with 10 boundaries.

 From New Zealand national cricket team’s side, Mitchell Santner took 2 wickets during Pakistan’s innings. Pakistan managed to score 345 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in their allotted 50 overs.

The match exhibited promising performances from the Pakistani batsmen, setting a challenging target for New Zealand.

This warm-up match serves as valuable preparation for the ICC World Cup 2023, and Pakistan’s batting display has raised hopes among fans for a successful campaign in the tournament.

It is pertinent to mention warm-up matches will consist of 50 overs per side. However, these matches won't have ODI status because teams will have the flexibility to include all 15 members of their squad in the playing XI.

The game is being held without spectators. This decision came in response to recommendations from local security authorities in Hyderabad, the match's designated venue, coinciding with ongoing festivals in the area.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 will take place in India with 10 teams competing for the elusive title across 10 venues from October 5 to November 19, with the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad hosting the tournament opener and the final.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, M Wasim Jnr, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young.