2nd T20I: Pakistan filed first against New Zealand

2nd T20I: Pakistan filed first against New Zealand

Rawalpindi (Web Desk): Pakistan on Saturday won the toss and decided to filed first against New Zealand in the second T20I being played at Pindi Stadium.

It is pertinent to mention that the first T20 was abandoned due to intermittent rain.

The game which was reduced to five overs per side was called off, with just two balls bowled, due to repeated showers in Rawalpindi.

Meanwhile, Pakistan handed debut caps to three players – Usman Khan, Irfan Khan and Abrar Ahmed. New Zealand introduced Josh Clarkson to their squad, marking his debut appearance.

As per the schedule, following today’s match being played at Pindi Stadium, the third match of the five-match series, will also be played at the same venue on April 21.

The fourth and fifth matches of the series will be played at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium on April 25 and April 27 respectively.

This would be the third five-match series between both sides inside a 12-month period. Last year, Pakistan and New Zealand drew the series at two-all in Pakistan, while New Zealand clinched the series 4-1 earlier this year in their backyard.

So far, 39 T20 International matches have been played between Pakistan and New Zealand in which New Zealand won 17 matches and lost 21, while one match ended without a result.

Pakistan’s highest score against New Zealand in a T20 International was 201 runs for the loss of 4 wickets which was scored by Pakistan on January 25, 2018 at Auckland.

New Zealand’s highest score against Pakistan was 226 runs for 8 wickets on January 12, 2024 at Auckland ground.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Usman Khan, Abrar Ahmed, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi

New Zealand: Michael Bracewell (captain), Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Jimmy Neesham, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi Umpires: Ahsan Raza (PAK) and Aleem Dar (PAK) Tv umpire: Faisal Afridi (PAK) Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)