Historic Triumph: Pakistan women achieve first-ever series whitewash against South Africa

Historic Triumph: Pakistan women achieve first-ever series whitewash against South Africa
Source: twitter

Karachi (Web Desk): Pakistan women’s cricket team made history as they whitewashed South African team in a three match T20I series on Monday at National Stadium, Karachi.

Pakistan women won third T20I by six runs, completing their historic series sweep against South Africa. 

This is Pakistan’s first T20I series whitewash against South Africa, making this win more incredible in women cricket history. 

After winning the toss, Proteas chose to field first and invite hosts to bat first. 

Pakistan had a good start with openers Shawaal Zulfiqar and Sidra Amin securing 41 runs in the powerplay. After Shawaal Zulfiqar got out by Nonkululeko Mlaba, duo Sidra and Bismah Maroof hit a 49-run partnership, with Nida Dra’s 36, Pakistan got to 150 for 5 wickets in the 20 overs. 

From South African side Sekhukhune took 2 wickets, Mlaba, Klerk and Shangase took 1 wicket each.  

While chasing the target of 151 runs, the Proteas kept on losing wickets regularly but it was South African skipper Laura Wolvaardt who played a brillian knock of 72 runs on 54 balls with nine boundaries, single handedly carrying her side she was aboput to achieve the target. The decision to go for a six came out to be a risky shot as it was caught by the Pakistani player and didn’t reach the boundary. 

After her wicket, none of the other batters could take their team over the line and lost the game.

For Pakistan, left-arm spin duo Sadia Iqbal and Nashra Sundhu took two wickets each and played a key part in their side's victory.

In the end, Laura Wolvaardt was given Player of the match for her magnificent 72 and she was also Player of the series for her amazing performance throughout.  

Pakistan won the first T20I by five wickets, while they won the second T20I by seven wickets.


Pakistan: Sidra Ameen, Shawaal Zulfiqar, Bismah Maroof, Nida Dar (c), Muneeba Ali (wk), Aliya Riaz, Umme Hani, Diana Baig, Nashra Sandhu, Sadia Iqbal, Syeda Aroob Shah

South Africa: Laura Wolvaardt (c), Tazmin Brits, Anneke Bosch, Sune Luus, Nadine de Klerk, Delmi Tucker, Nondumiso Shangase, Mieke de Ridder (wk), Masabata Klaas, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune

Pakistan will now play a three-match ODI series against South Africa.

Schedule of upcoming ODI matches

8 Sep – First ODI 

11 Sep – Second ODI 

14 Sep – Third ODI