Second T20I: Pakistan beat Bangladesh by 8 wickets, clinch series 2-0

Second T20I: Pakistan beat Bangladesh by 8 wickets, clinch series 2-0

Dhaka (Web Desk): Pakistan defeated Bangladesh by eight wickets to seal the three-match Twenty 20 International (T20I) series 2-0 at the Shere Bangla Stadium in Dhaka on Saturday.

Fakhar Zaman struck an unbeaten 57 off 51 balls as Pakistan reached 109-2 in 18.1 overs after restricting Bangladesh to 108-7 in 20 overs.

Earlier, Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bat first against Pakistan. The Bengal Tigers set 109-run target for the Green Shirts.

Bangladesh batting failed to impress against a strong Pakistan bowling line-up, managing to score only 108/7 off their 20 overs.

Najmul Hossain Shanto managed to score the most runs for the Bangladesh team, 40 off 34 balls.

Shaheen Afridi and Shadab Khan took two wickets each to deal frequent blows to the hosts while Nawaz, Haris Rauf and Wasim pitched in with one wicket each.

Pakistan's left-arm pacer Shaheen Afridi once again rose to the occasion, striking in the first over to dismiss Bangladesh opener Saif Hassan to put the hosts on the back foot.

Mohammad Wasim also dismissed left-handed Bangladeshi opener Naim, who was caught at slip.

Shadab Khan dismissed Afif Hosain in a soft dismissal when he was caught behind by Mohammad Rizwan.

The Pakistani wicketkeeper was part of another dismissal when Bangladesh skipper Mahmudullah edged a Haris Rauf delivery straight into his hands.

Vice-captain Shadab Khan picked up Shanto's wicket when he leapt forward to take a brilliant catch, causing Bangladesh to lose their fifth wicket.

On Friday, Pakistan defeated Bangladesh by four wickets in the first T20I of the three-match series.

The third and final match will be held at the same ground on Monday.