PSL 2022 ends as Lahore Qalandars grab trophy after seven year

PSL 2022 ends as Lahore Qalandars grab trophy after seven year

Lahore (Web Desk): Lahore Qalandars clinched the Pakistan Super League (PSL) title for the first time by defeating Multan Sultans in the final match of the league played at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium on Sunday.

Qalandars won the toss and opted batting first against Sultans. Lahore Qalandars scored 180 runs for the loss of five wickets in twenty overs.

In reply, Multan Sultans scored 138 runs all out in 19.3 overs.

Top batsmen including Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Zeeshan Ashraf were gone in the powerplay as table topper kept the Afridi-led team’s batters under pressure.

However, Mohammad Hafeez redeemed himself as he rescued franchise fluttering innings from 25 for 3 to help them on their way to a substantial 180. Harry Brook smashed a 22-ball 41 and David Wiese an 8-ball 28 added the much-needed points as Lahore’s Gaddafi stadium was a houseful.

Fakhar who failed with the bat, but was light wire in the field as he ran out Shan Masood with a brilliant direct-hit, and also took a great catch of Aamer Azmat to reduce Multan to 46-3.

Asif Afridi was removed four runs later, and the dangerous Rilee Rossow was sent back for 15 by young pacer Zaman Khan as Multan batters were falling like a pack of cards.

President Dr. Arif Alvi and Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Farrukh Habib congratulated Lahore Qalandars team on winning final match of the Pakistan Super League’s season seven.