PTI's Mehmood Khan elected as Khyber Pakhtunkhwa chief minister

PTI's Mehmood Khan elected as Khyber Pakhtunkhwa chief minister

Peshawar (Staff Report): Mehmood Khan of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) was elected as new chief minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on Thursday.

The PTI candidate defeated Mian Nisar Gul of Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal as he secured 77 votes. The MMA nominee received 33 votes.

Mehmood Khan was elected as the member of the provincial assembly from PK-9 Swat in 2013 and 2018 general elections.

Mahmoood Khan has served as minister for sports, culture and tourism in the previous tenure of the PTI government. He was also given the portfolio of KP home minister but was later removed from the post.

Born in Matta Tehsil of Swat in 1972, Khan got his early education from Government Primary School Matta and completed his matriculation from Peshawar Public School. He did his masters in agriculture from the Agriculture University of Peshawar.

He also served as Nazim Union Council Khariri of Tehsil Matta from 2007 to 2012.

Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) enjoys majority as it had gained 84 seats in the house and Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal is the second largest party with a strength of 13 lawmakers.

On Wednesday, Mushtaq Ghani of PTI was elected as Speaker Khyber Pakhutunkhwa Assembly.