President, PM condemn attack on Customs officials in DI Khan

President, PM condemn attack on Customs officials in DI Khan

Islamabad (Web Desk): President Asif Ali Zardari and Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif on Saturday condemned a terrorist attack on customs officials in Daraban area of Dera Ismail Khan district of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).

According to a press release issued by the President Secretariat, the president expressed his condolences with the bereaved families and paid tribute to the sacrifices of customs officials who laid down their lives while performing their duties.

He also prayed for the high ranks of Shuhada and for the bereaved families to bear the losses with equanimity. 

The president also lauded services of the customs personnel and for their efforts to curb smuggling and reiterated the resolve to efface terrorism and smuggling.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif also strongly condemned the attack on customs officials in DI Khan.

The prime minister reiterated that such cowardly acts could not shake the resolve of the government and the fight against terrorism and smuggling would continue till their complete elimination.

PM Shehbaz prayed for the departed souls of Shaheed officials and for the bereaved families to bear the losses with fortitude.

He said that looking after the bereaved families of Shuhada was now a responsibility of the government and directed Chairman Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) to prepare Shuhada package for the bereaved families.

“Those Shuhada who had been sacrificing their lives for the motherland and laying down their lives in performance of duties, were alive before Allah Almighty”, the premier added.

On Thursday, five customs officials were martyred during an intelligence-based operation (IBO) in DI Khan.

According to a press release from the Directorate General of Intelligence and Investigation Customs, the officials were ambushed by “unknown assailants in a dastardly attack and fired upon with automatic weapons” while conducting the IBO at Daraban Road near Sagguu village around 3:30pm.

“Despite all odds, they remained committed to their mission, serving the nation with honour and distinction. Their courage in the face of adversity serves as a shining example of gallantry,” the statement said.

The martyred intelligence officer were identified as Aslam Khan, Havaldars Inayat Ullah Khan and Akbar Zaman and Sepoys Iftikhar Alam and Shahab Ali.