Pakistan women's team win last match of ODI series against South Africa

Pakistan women's team win last match of ODI series against South Africa

Karachi (Web Desk): Pakistan women team won last match by eight wickets against South Africa after losing two One Day Internationals (ODIs) in the three-match series at the National Stadium in Karachi, on Thursday.

After losing their first two matches against South Africa in the ODI series, Pakistan team lost the series but won their last and consolatory match. 

South Africa won the toss, opted to bat first and scored 185 runs after getting all out in 48th over. 

During South Africa’s innings, Pakistani put up an amazing all-round performance as six out of seven bowlers took at least a wicket and sent the entire South African batting line back to the pavilion for just 185 runs in 48th over. 

South Africa kept losing wickets at regular intervals, with their first loss coming in form of their captain Laura Wolvaardt’s getting bowled by Sadia on the fourth ball of the match.

For the Porteas, Nadine de Klerk top scorer as she scored 60 off 95. She was followed by opener Tazmin Brits who provided 32 runs.

Sadia Iqbal, Nashra Sundhu and skipper Nida Dar took two wickets each while Diana Baig, Waheeda Akhtar and Riaz managed to pick one.

While chasing Pakistan lost opener Sadaf Shamas early with only 13 runs contribution, Sidra Ameen and Bismah Maroof's impressive 110-run partnership took Green Shirts to victory as they comfortably chased down the target of 186 runs in the 38th over.

Ameen was highes run scorer with 68 off 82 and was named the Player of the Match for guiding her side to their maiden ODI win in the series. 

While Maroof hit 60 off 98 with the help of four boundaries.

Sidra departed after scoring 68 runs after getting bowled by Nadine de Klerk but the job was done by Aliya Riaz, as she scored a quick 19 runs on 14 balls with four boundaries.

With this amazing batting performance Pakistani players lead the team to win.  

South Africa won the ODI series 2-1 while Pakistan white-washed the Proteas for the first-time in history in a three-match T20 International series before the 50-over matches.

Playing Squad

Pakistan: Muneeba Ali (wk), Sidra Ameen, Sadaf Shamas, Bismah Maroof, Aliya Riaz, Nida Dar (c), Omaima Sohail, Diana Baig, Waheeda Akhtar, Nashra Sandhu, Sadia Iqbal

South Africa: Laura Wolvaardt (c), Tazmin Brits, Lara Goodall, Sune Luus, Marizanne Kapp, Nadine de Klerk, Delmi Tucker, Sinalo Jafta (wk), Nondumiso Shangase, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas