UAE halts travellers coming from Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal & Sri Lanka

uae, pakistan, bangladesh, nepal, sri lanka, neo tv

Abu Dhabi (Web Desk): The UAE General Civil Aviation Authority and the National Emergency Crisis and Disaster Management Authority have banned entry of all travelers from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka.

The decision comes as countries take measures to curb the spread of Covid-19, cases of which have again been on the rise in several countries.

According to the Emirates News Agency (WAM), the suspension excludes transit flights coming to the country and bound to these countries.

This decision is applicable to the entry of travellers who were in Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka in the last 14 days before coming to the UAE, WAM further stated.

The Khaleej Times reported that the only exceptions are UAE citizens, diplomatic missions, official delegations, Golden Visa holders and businessmen’s jets.

The passengers exempted from the suspension will have to undergo a PCR test no more than 48 hours before the flight. The exempted passengers are also to undergo a 10-day quarantine in the UAE, with PCR tests to be conducted on days four and eight of entry.