World Cup 2023: Pakistan win opening match against Netherlands by 81 runs

World Cup 2023: Pakistan win opening match against Netherlands by 81 runs

Hyderabad: Pakistan started its world cup run with first win against Netherlands by 81 runs in Hyderabad, India

Pakistan secured its first win by defending its 287-run target with help of pacers duo Hassan Ali who dismissed 2 Dutch batsmen and Harris Rauf who took 3 wickets.

While all other players contributed 1 wicket each for a good defence of target.

From Dutch side Bas De Leede took 4 wickets and 2 wickets were contributed by Colin Ackermann. While other 3 Dutch players contributed one wicket each.

While in Pakistan innings Pakistan team scored 287 runs in 49 overs, thanks to the half-centuries of Saud Shakeel and Muhammad Rizwan, and the well-needed partnership of Shadab Khan and Muhammad Nawaz.

Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul-Haq opened the innings from the Green Shirts side, the out-of-form Fakhar Zaman scored 12 runs off 15 balls with 3 fours and returned to the pavilion. The loss of Pakistan's second wicket captain Babar Azam, who returned to the pavilion after scoring only 5 runs on a total of 34, the second opener Imam-ul-Haq left the field after scoring 15 runs.

The grip of the Netherlands became stronger, in such a situation Mohammad Rizwan and Saud Shakeel batted responsibly. Both players fought against the Dutch bowlers and made a partnership of 120 runs on 114 balls and brought Pakistan to a stable position in the match. Rizwan and Saud returned to the pavilion after scoring 68 runs each.

After Rizwan and Saud’s wickets Iftikhar Ahmed came to pavilion who could only contribute 9 runs before getting out.

Muhammad Nawaz and Shadab Khan added 64 runs to the total score with a well-needed partnership at 7th wicket.

Pakistan's 9th wicket fell at the score of 267, Mohammad Nawaz was run out after scoring 39 runs while the 10th out batsman was Haris Rauf who was stumped after scoring 16 runs thus the whole team was out for 286 runs.

Saud Shakeel was awarded Man of the match for his amazing 68-run performance.

This is the seventh time Pakistan and the Netherlands faced off each other in an ODI, and Pakistan have come out victorious on each occasion.

Pakistan team: Fakhar Zaman, Imamul Haq, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Haris Rauf.

The Netherlands team: Vikramjit Singh, Max O’Dowd, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Scott Edwards, Saqib Zulfiqar, Logan van Beek, Roelof van der Merwe, Aryan Dutt and Paul van Meekeren.