ECP de-notifies Imran Khan from 6 NA seats

ECP de-notifies Imran Khan from 6 NA seats

Islamabad (Web Desk): The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday has de-notified Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf chairman Imran Khan from six National Assembly seats which he had won last year in by-polls.

The ECP stated that Imran had been de-notified from NA-22, Mardan-III; NA-24, Charsadda-II; NA 31-Peshawar-V; NA-108 Faisalabad-VIII; NA-118, Nankana Sahib-II and NA 239 Korangi, Karachi-I.

The only seat Imran retained is NA-45, Kurram, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).

Meanwhile, the ECP on Friday also suspended by-elections on 27 seats of the National Assembly in compliance with the directives of the Lahore High Court (LHC).

According to an ECP notification, elections on 27 general seats would not be held till further notice.

The ECP has also restored the membership of five female MNAs of PTI who are Aliya Hamza Malik, Kanwal Shuzab, Andleeb Abbas, Asma Hameed and Maleeka Ali Bokhari in light of LHC orders.

However, by-elections would be held in three constituencies of Islamabad scheduled on March 16.

The federal capital’s constituencies NA 52, 53, 54 are located in Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT) and the IHC is not applicable to the said constituencies of Islamabad, said the notification.

Earlier on February 20, the Lahore High Court (LHC) suspended ECP’s de-notification of around 30 MNAs of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) from Punjab.

Shahid Karim of the LHC had issued an interim order on petitions filed by Shafqat Mahmood and others, suspending the process of by-elections in the petitioners’ constituencies.