Indian cricket board announces Champions Trophy squad

Indian cricket board announces Champions Trophy squad

New Delhi (Reuters): Indian cricket board has announced the final 15-member squad list for next month's Champions Trophy in England and Wales after Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) gave its all clear to the move in a Special General Meeting on Sunday, a massive climbdown from its initial aggressive stance.

According to details, several members of the Indian cricket board (BCCI) were in favour of pulling out of the tournament but court-appointed administrators, who are currently supervising BCCI operations, were against such drastic moves.

The top eight sides in the world rankings compete in the Champions Trophy with India winning the last edition in 2013.

India, that began their Group B campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan at Birmingham on June 4, named the following squad on Monday.

Indian Cricket Squad:

Virat Kohli (captain)

Shikhar Dhawan

Rohit Sharma

Ajinkya Rahane

MS Dhoni

Yuvraj Singh

Kedar Jadhav

Hardik Pandya

Ravichandran Ashwin

Ravindra Jadeja

Mohammad Shami

Umesh Yadav

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Jasprit Bumrah

Manish Pandey