Gilgit Baltistan Election 2020: Polling ends, counting of votes underway

Gilgit Baltistan Election 2020: Polling ends, counting of votes underway

Gilgit (Staff Report/Agencies): The polling time for the Gilgit Baltistan Election 2020 ended at 5:00pm sharp and counting of votes is currently underway.

The voting began at 8:00am and continued without any break.

According to G-B Election Commission’s data, a total of 745,361 people have registered to vote Sunday (today), about 339,992 of whom are women.

More than 15,000 security personnel from GB, Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Sindh and Balochistan were deployed at polling stations.

Over half of the polling stations have already been categorised sensitive. Out of 1,141 polling stations, 577 have been declared sensitive and 297 highly sensitive.

According to unofficial and provisional result:

GBA-24: PPP’s Muhammad Ismail won the election by securing 6,206 votes. PTI candidate Syed Shamsuddin remained second with 5,361 votes.

GBA-8: Muhammad Kazim of Majlis-e-Wahdatul Muslimeen (MWM) – an ally of PTI – won the election in by bagging 7,534 votes. PPP’s Syed M Ali Shah came second with 7,146 votes.

GBA-12: PTI candidate Raja Azam Khan beat PPP’s Imran Nadeem by bagging 7,534 votes.

GBA-5: Independent candidate Javed Ali Manwa emerged victorious after bagging 2,570 votes. Rizwan Ali of Majlis-e-Wahdatul Muslimeen secured the second position with 1,850 votes.

GBA-22: Independent candidate Mustaq Hussain with 6,051 votes managed to beat his rival from PTI Muhammad Ibrahim Sanai, who could only get 4,945 votes.

GBA-7: Raja Zakaria Khan Maqpoon of PTI defeated his PPP opponent Syed Mehdi Shah, former G-B chief minister, in election.