Yousaf Raza Gillani beats PTI’s Hafeez Shaikh to grab Senate seat

yousaf, raza, gillani, pti, hafeez shaikh, senate, neo tv

Islamabad (Staff Report/Agencies): Former prime minister and a joint candidate of Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) Syed Yousaf Raza Gillani has won Senate elections from Islamabad by beating PTI's Abdul Hafeez Shaikh.

As per the unofficial results, Gillani got 169 votes whereas Shaikh could only get 164 votes. Seven votes were rejected by the ECP officials.

The polling time for 37 seats of the Senate came to a close at 5pm after voting was held smoothly under the supervision of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) with a total of 78 candidates contesting from Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan and Islamabad.

According to unofficial results, PPP and MQM-P candidates Palwasha Khan and Khalida Ateeb from Sindh Assembly won the seats on reserved seats for women.

JUI-F’s candidate Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri, Independent candidate Abdul Qadir and BNP’s Mohammad Qasim have each been elected to a general seat, says unofficial results.

Prime Minister Imran Khan, Opposition Leader Shehbaz Sharif, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and PPP Co-Chiarman Asif Ali Zardari cast their votes.

This is a developing story and will be updated accordingly.