Balochistan, KP assemblies elect new speakers

Balochistan, KP assemblies elect new speakers

Quetta/Peshawar: Babar Saleem Khan Swati has been elected as Speaker of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Assembly.

Saleem Swati of Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) secured 89 votes whereas Ihsanullah Khan of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) could only grab 17 votes. A total of 106 votes were polled.

Earlier, a committee of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) approved Babar Saleem Swati for the slot of speaker while Surayya Bibi, a returned candidate from Chitral in general election, was approved for deputy speaker.

In Balochistan Assembly, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate MPA Abdul Khaliq Achakzai has been elected unopposed as speaker.

On Wednesday, 57 newly-elected members of the Balochistan Assembly took oath. The full strength of the assembly members is 65.