President Alvi approves PEMRA (Amendment) Bill 2023

President Alvi approves PEMRA (Amendment) Bill 2023

Islamabad (Web Desk/Agencies): President Dr Arif Alvi has accorded his approval to Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (PEMRA) Amendment Bill 2023.

According to a statement issued by President Secretariat Press Wing, the president approved the bill under Article 75 of the Constitution of Pakistan.

Earlier today, President Alvi assured media workers and the journalist community of his support for the PEMRA (Amendment) Bill 2023, the Radio Pakistan reported.

He gave this assurance while talking to a delegation of representatives of the Pakistan Federal Union of Journalists (PFUJ), All Pakistan Newspapers Society (APNS), Pakistan Broadcasters Association (PBA), Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors (CPNE), and Association of Electronic Media Editors and News Directors (AEMEND), who called on him in Islamabad.

The president appreciated the collective efforts of the media community for introducing amendments to the PEMRA law, especially to protect the rights of media workers.

He said that the linking of government advertisements with the payment of dues to electronic media employees would help address their issues.

President Alvi remarked that the media, especially senior journalists, should enhance linkages with academia and universities to guide and educate students about fake news and the new developments taking place in the field of journalism.

"Dynamics of new forms of media, especially social media, should be understood," he asserted, adding that it is the responsibility of media to educate the people on morality and the use of social media in a responsible and constructive manner.

On the occasion, the delegation briefed the president about various provisions of the new bill that would benefit the journalist community as well as media employees.

The delegation thanked the President for his support and for taking interest in addressing the issues faced by the media community.

The delegation comprised Afzal Butt, Arshad Ansari, Naz Afreen Saigol, Sarmad Ali, Shahab Zuberi, Shakeel Masud, Ijaz ul Haq, Kazim Khan, Ayaz Khan, and Azhar Abbas.